Three Canadian political parties at a glance?

13 Feb

You probably recognize this 1939 British propaganda poster, issued at the start of World War II to keep up morale amidst the looming threat of invasion. It’s been enjoying a comeback in the last couple of years, both on the streets and internet meme-land.

Here’s a recent anti-protest spinoff in reaction to the 2011 riots  in London.

…and my personal favourite, of Canadian inspiration in honour of Jack Layton & the New Democrats:

Obviously it’s only the last poster whose colour deliberately corresponds to the NDP. But thinking about the three major Canadian political parties and their respective colours, I was more than a bit amused at what each poster asks us to do. There’s definitely something to the politic behind each call-to-action or inaction. What do you think?

[edit: H/T to Matt Campbell for finding the orange one for me. I saw it crop up on folks’ facebook & twitter profiles in tribute to Layton after his passing, but I had a hard time finding it recently. If you know the origin, do let me know!]

5 Responses to “Three Canadian political parties at a glance?”

  1. Ben February 13, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

    Love it. The blue one with the tea seems to have taken another meaning…become like the far right fringe that got power in the GOP in the states?

    • esooze February 13, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

      I didn’t even think of that angle with the tea! I love the layers of meaning with that one.

  2. Kevin February 14, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

    Hey Thats mine! Liam asked me to make it last April! I am so pleased!

    • esooze February 14, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

      what what WHAT! Amazing. Is it the one in Liam’s facebook profile pic album? That one looks much nicer than the one I posted here.

      • Kevin February 16, 2012 at 9:24 am #

        Yes, the same. He asked “Do you think you could whip that up in 10 minutes? I am going to make it my facebook picture and send it to all my friends”

Leave a Reply

